Leadership Safari 2015

My experience from CMU’s Leadership Safari was one that I will not forget.  That first week at Central was jam packed with so many opportunities to meet new people and get to know campus.  Safari included slam poets, a speed meeting session, comedians, a fairness lunch and so much more.  I was on Team Praying Mantis (obviously the best team) and I am so thankful to haven be able to make the connections I did through Safari, not only on my team but with others I met during the Safari experience as well.

Safari 1

One of the activities that my group really appreciated was the Fairness Lunch.  This consisted of each member of the group getting a color coordinated bag, each containing different types and amounts of food.  I was particularly impressed with how our group instantly began offering food to those who had less than others, and ultimately our decision was to make a community pile of food, from which everyone was able to take anything they would like.  This was my first sense of generosity and community here at CMU and it set the stage well for the rest of my first-semester experience.

 

 

This entry was posted in Community, Leadership Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

