Be a Fred

  1. Everyone makes a difference
  2. Success is built on relationships
  3. You must continually create value for others, and it doesn’t have to cost a penny
  4. You can reinvent yourself regularly

It was these four points that were considered when our group discussed who our personal Freds were.  My Fred is my sister.  She always puts a smile on my face.  She is always there for me, whether I am in a good mood or a bad one.  She constantly makes me feel appreciated just by the way that she treats me, as well as everyone else around her.  It doesn’t matter to her that she is young, she is just genuinely herself and inspires me to be the best version of myself that I can be.

Everyone makes a difference.  Old, young, friend, or stranger everyone has the opportunity to either positively or negatively impact other people’s days.  Because the little things that make our days brighter are often so simple, they may easily get overlooked.  It was for this reason that our group decided to write notes of appreciation to other members of our LAS cohort for our Fred Factor Project.  We each selected a few people to write to, in order to let them know what we genuinely appreciate about them.  Following this, we asked everyone to give an appreciation note to someone who makes a difference in their lives, and use #AppreciationChain in order to see the effects they have on others.

Seeing how something as simple as this impacted the people that I care about really made me realize that to be a Fred myself, I will make make it my personal goal to ensure that those around me always know how much I appreciate them, just as my sister does for me.Fred 1

“We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude.” -Cynthia Ozick

#AppreciationChain

 

This entry was posted in Community, Leadership Development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

