Mentee & Me

fam on iceWhere do I even begin?  When I took up the mentor role, to be quite frank, I didn’t even feel like I knew what I was doing yet myself.  I still reached out to my mentor consistently, whether it be asking for advice, trying to schedule classes, or just going to half-off apps at Applebee’s to de-stress.  And now all of a sudden, I have someone who’s looking up to me, thinking that I know all there is to know about CMU and life in general.  But I don’t…  What I’ve learned so far is that life is a process – you’ll never know everything.  Anyone who claims to has never tried hard enough to fail.  And thus began the dysfunctional sisterly relationship between myself and Katie Heller – the best mentee in the game.

I met Katie on her LAS Competition day back in 2016.  I couldn’t even tell you how many people came up and said, “Kendall, if you haven’t met Katie yet, you need to go do that right now.”  They were right, it seemed like a perfect match.  Draft day came, and Katie became my mentee, though she didn’t know it yet.  Then began the tricky part.  Once I picked Katie to be my mentee, I didn’t want it to be obvious that I was her mentor right away, so naturally I waited until the last possible second to do my reveal (I’m pretty sure that she’s still annoyed at me for causing all that suspense).  While Katie was at school, I dropped off a gift her at her house, which also included a baseball with both my name and my mentor, Connor Ewald’s name.  She actually left school early once she found out that her mentor had left something for her, and that’s when I got her text letting me know how excited she was to be starting this new journey.

mentor menteeKatie and I have a great relationship that has formed and strengthened over the last year.  From mentor-mentee retreat, to the all-LAS picnic, to family tree nights at Applebee’s and everything in between, it became clear to me that I had made one of the best choices of my life by choosing Katie as my mentee.  And our relationship is just going to continue to grow – my mentee and I just signed a lease together for next year, fire up!  One thing that I love about LAS is that acquaintances turn into friends, and friends turn into family.

Katie, I love ya girl.

This entry was posted in Community, Leadership Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

